Roundup of Unusual Size: Time-travel RTSes and Sparky Clarkson in the director’s chair.

It’s another Monday. Look at that. Hit it, links!

Videogames

Kate Cox at Your Critic is in Another Castle takes a long look at Enslaved: Odyssey to the West in all its pros and cons.

Sparky Clarkson’s hit another one out of the park already, following up his piece on FFXIII game mechanics with a new one looking to theater/cinema analogies to understand the player role in RPGs.

Gee, I hope the designer saved a backup.

And this sounds like a unique spin on time-travel RTS if I do say.

Lastly, as usual, swing by Rock, Paper, Shotgun’s Sunday Papers and Critical Distance’s This Week in Videogame Blogging for other pieces you may have missed in the last week. And now for the miscellany.

Reading

io9 has received an !!!!EXCLUSIVE!!!! chapter leak of J.K. Rowling’s new Harry Potter American reboot.

Curios

Well, great. Fish are using tools now. Goodbye, mammal supremacy.

Also from io9 tonight, a list of 10 “wizards” in science fiction across media.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Thene  On 07.12.11 at 12:03 pm

    I’ve only recently finished FFXIII and am massively weirded out by how Everyone On The Internet responded to it; I thought it was a brilliant deconstruction of the concept of an RPG party and delivered by far the best lesbian romance plot I’ve ever seen in a videogame oh yeah and it was pretty fun to play too, and I’m just kinda baffled as to why it’s so unloved.

    • Kris Ligman  On 07.12.11 at 1:59 pm

      See yeah, I haven’t finished it yet but I enjoy it too for all the reasons you mention. I think it’s more that Western writers have moved on with their rhetoric such that something like FFXIII seems like an embarrassing leftover of a previous era mutated into something which goes against everything we know about computer game biology… er, this metaphor sounded better in my head.

      But yeah I really love the characters and the worldverse and am SO VERY SAD AND ALONE about that. One day I’ll finish playing and rant all about it.

