Roundup of Unusual Size: Shh, my childhood is calling me back to Nightopia.

("NiGHTS: Lucid Dreaming" album art by Ryuko DragonHalf and Ellavega)

Quick one tonight. I know I’ve been out for the count for much longer than normal, but thank you for your patience. I kind of got a little too little sleep over the holiday and as a result passed out at work before I could start compiling tonight’s list. Without further ado, then–

Videogames

Pong for augmented reality.

Great bit of commentary from Alex Raymond at The Border House responding to Clint Hocking’s Edge post on sexism in the game industry.

J.P. Grant celebrates America’s independence by looking at the near sexual fetishization of death in Modern Warfare.

Yahtzee reveals how he was approached several years ago to write the script of Duke Nukem Forever, and what happened.

Hideo Kojima will never be satisfied with the state of games, because if he was, he’d stop making them.

And, well, you’re probably best off reading these both in full anyway, so I’ll just link them: this past Sunday’s Critical Distance This Week In Video Game Blogging and Rock, Paper, Shotgun’s Sunday Papers.

Lastly, as a followup to previous reportage on the outpouring of support for Extra Credits artist Allison Theus, the Escapist conveys her thanks to the fans.

Fandom

Before flOw became my religion, the most important game in my life was NiGHTS into dreams… from Sonic Team for the Sega Saturn. I still have a bit of an unhealthy attachment to it. So you can imagine my elation when days after I speculated on them doing exactly this, OCRemix released a NiGHTS tribute album. And it is beautiful.

Animation

The first English trailer for Studio Ghibli’s newest feature Arrietty the Borrower is out.
SCIENCE!

Good news, everyone! The universe isn’t a giant hologram.

Hacktivism

A hacking infographic to help you tell between good and bad hacking. Thanks, io9!

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
