Roundup of Unusual Size: How not to write a college paper on videogames and other valuable advice.

Oh, we be Tormentin’ in the mornin’, and Tormentin’ in the eeeevenin’…

Videogames

Writing in Gamasutra, Leigh Alexander contends that we can do game violence right. Elsewhere on the site, Eddie Cameron writes about the illusion of player immersion.

Blending my love-hate relationship with videogames with my love-hate relationship with academia, Darius Kazemi instructs us on how not to write an undergraduate paper on games.

Yo dawg, I heard you liked Travis Touchdown so I made a Travis Touchdown cosplayer demo No More Heroes Red Zone for you so you can watch Travis Touchdown playing Travis Touchdown.

Gamer Melodico’s Dan Apczynski has my favorite take on the Brown v EMA case so far, by presenting it in verse.

The folks at College Humor take on female armor design. Could apply to other media, I suppose, but role-playing fans will recognize it best. In a similar vein, these Hark, a vagrant strips.

Proving once again that EVE is most interesting as a study of politics and economics, the game’s developers have arranged a meeting with leading players to head off a planned player boycott.

Lastly, an oldie but goodie videogame creepypasta (I don’t know if I want to play this or it would wig me out too much):

Film

I’m not sure what to make of this. Erm, sort of a robotic, English version of District 9? Because we can only talk about racism and class when we make the oppressed another species lol.

The Dude wants to bring you The Giver.

What if the cast of Lord of the Rings were hipsters? Bad things. Bad, obnoxious things.

Curios

The Mary Sue lists their ten favorite badass gay characters.

I think if I ever get married, I’d want cake toppers a little less… phallic.

Your (semi-)daily awwww: a tiny long-haired chihuahua herding sheep.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
