Roundup of Unusual Size: We have rights on the internets of all places?

If only 90% of my media weren’t on external drives; I could have better header images than incessant Anders fanart and My Little Pony macros.

Oh well. Kittens are always a nice fallback.

But hey! While I have you all here, I have a special announcement to make. I’m now part of the Critical Distance family! And I don’t mean I stole half of it from Ben Abraham in the divorce. I’ll be filling in for Ben this coming Sunday, so keep an eye out for that byline! I promise not to have too many repeats. (A low possibility anyway, as Ben and Eric’s feeds outstrip mine considerably.)

That’s enough of an update. Click onward; adventure awaits!

Fandom

Kotaku;

I’ve tired of posting Brian Ashcraft’s horndog slavering, but I make exceptions for incredibly awesome cosplay of Gray Fox/Cyborg Ninja.

Videogames

Joystick Division;

Here’s a top 10 list of critically acclaimed commercial flops. Full of no-brainers, but a great tribute nonetheless.

Ars Technica;

You won’t believe your eyes! The incredible shrinking game: the truth of game length in the modern industry.

Gamasutra;

This is a pretty pointless article, except it has Ian Bogost et al trolling in the comments. Cheers!

Kris Ligman’s Dragon Age II Corner

Gamer Melodico;

Dan Apczynski just can’t take it anymore, Templars of Kirkwall: It’s Not a Friggin’ Walking Stick.

Grey Wardens;

Amelia Overbay-Day has a look at the changing nature of the templars and the Chantry, contrasting the text with their representation in Dragon Age II.

Film

io9;

It feels like the early naughts all over again! Peter Jackson is recording a bunch of people dressed up as hobbits, and you can watch the behind-the-scenes.

Is it really “viral” video anymore if it’s so damn obvious? Anyway, here’s a video for J.J. Abrams’ Super 8.

Roger Ebert;

I actually love Ebert’s writing when he’s not trying to arbitrarily define art for everyone. And as the sibling/victim of an Objectivist, I was quite eager to see his review of the new Atlas Shrugged. (Spoiler: Yes, BioShock is still better. But you knew that.)

Interwebs

Ars Technica;

A legal opinion filed by top European lawyers today calls into question court-ordered filtering of websites, claiming it to be in a violation of man’s “fundamental rights.” Say, can we get some of that over here?

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
